Text
Menu
Top links

Commission on the Measurement of Economic Performance and Social Progress

Welcome to the website of the Commission on the Measurement of Economic Performance and Social Progress

News

Download the report of the commission

View videos of September 14, 2009 working day

  • Videos of morning sessions : Speeches of Joseph E. Stiglitz, Amartya Sen, Jean-Paul Fitoussi (General introduction), Amartya Sen, Angus Deaton, Bina Agarwal, Juan Somavia (Quality of Life).
  • Videos of afternoon sessions : Speeches of Christine Lagarde, Enrico Giovannini, Jean-Philippe Cotis, Nancy Folbre, Olivier Blanchard (Classic GDP-related issues), Geoffrey Heal, Nicholas Stern, Claude Henry (Sustainable development and the environment), Chantal Jouanno, Jacques Barrot, Angel Gurria, Otaviano Canuto, (Implementation of the report).

The Commission on the measurement of economic performance and social progress has been created at the beginning of 2008 on French government's initiative.

Increasing concerns have been raised since a long time about the adequacy of current measures of economic performance, in particular those based on GDP figures. Moreover, there are broader concerns about the relevance of these figures as measures of societal well-being, as well as measures of economic, environmental, and social sustainability.

Reflecting these concerns, President Sarkozy has decided to create this Commission, to look at the entire range of issues. Its aim was to identify the limits of GDP as an indicator of economic performance and social progress, to consider additional information required for the production of a more relevant picture, to discuss how to present this information in the most appropriate way, and to check the feasibility of measurement tools proposed by the Commission. Commission's work is not focused on France, nor on developed countries. The output of the Commission has been made public, providing a template for every interested country or group of countries.

The Commission was chaired by Professor Joseph E. Stiglitz, Columbia University. Professor Amartya Sen, Harvard University, was Chair Adviser. Professor Jean-Paul Fitoussi, Institut d'Etudes Politiques de Paris, President of the Observatoire Français des Conjonctures Economiques (OFCE), was Coordinator of the Commission. Members of the Commission are renowned experts from universities, governmental and intergovernmental organisations, in several countries (USA, France, United Kingdom, India). Rapporteurs and secretariat have been provided by the French national statistical institute (Insee), OFCE, and OECD.

The Commission held its first plenary meeting on 22 - 23 April 2008 in Paris. Its final report has been made public on 14 September 2009.

Back to top of pageBack to top of page

Aller au texte
Aller au menu principal
Liens utiles transversaux haut

Commission sur la Mesure de la Performance Économique et du Progrès Social

Bienvenue sur le site internet de la Commission sur la Mesure de la Performance Économique et du Progrès Social

Actualités

Télécharger le rapport de la commission

Visionner les vidéos du colloque du 14 septembre 2009

  • Vidéos des sessions du matin : Interventions de Joseph E. Stiglitz, Amartya Sen, Jean-Paul Fitoussi (Introduction générale), Amartya Sen, Angus Deaton, Bina Agarwal, Juan Somavia (Qualité de la vie).
  • Vidéos des sessions de l'après-midi : Interventions de Christine Lagarde, Enrico Giovannini, Jean-Philippe Cotis, Nancy Folbre, Olivier Blanchard (Questions relatives à la mesure du PIB), Geoffrey Heal, Nicholas Stern, Claude Henry (Développement durable et environnement), Chantal Jouanno, Jacques Barrot, Angel Gurria, Otaviano Canuto (Mise en oeuvre du rapport).

La Commission sur la Mesure de la Performance Économique et du Progrès Social a été créée au début de 2008 sur l’initiative du gouvernement français.

Depuis longtemps, des interrogations croissantes se sont exprimées sur la pertinence des mesures actuelles de la performance économique, notamment celles fondées sur les chiffres du PIB. En outre, la remise en question de ces chiffres vise plus largement leur validité comme mesures du bien-être social, ainsi que du développement durable économique, écologique et social.

En réponse à ces interrogations, le président Sarkozy a décidé la création de cette commission pour examiner l’ensemble des problèmes soulevés. Son but était d’identifier les limites du PIB comme indicateur de performance économique et de progrès social, d’examiner quel supplément d’information est nécessaire pour produire une image plus pertinente, de discuter quelle en serait la présentation la plus appropriée, et de vérifier la faisabilité des instruments de mesure proposés. Le travail de la commission ne se limite pas à la France, ni aux pays développés. Le résultat des travaux de la commission a été rendu public, pour que tous les pays ou groupes de pays intéressés puissent s’en inspirer.

La commission était présidée par le professeur Joseph E. Stiglitz, de l’université de Columbia. Le professeur Amartya Sen, de l’université de Harvard, était conseiller du président. Le professeur Jean-Paul Fitoussi, de l’Institut d’Études Politiques de Paris, président de l’Observatoire Français des Conjonctures Économiques (OFCE) était coordinateur de la commission. Les membres de la commission sont des experts reconnus, venant du monde universitaire et des organisations gouvernementales ou intergouvernementales, et de plusieurs pays (États Unis, France, Royaume Uni, Inde). Les rapporteurs et le secrétariat ont été mis à la disposition de la commission par l’Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques français (Insee), l’OFCE et l’OCDE.

La commission a tenu sa première réunion plénière les 22 et 23 avril 2008. Son rapport final a été rendu public le 14 septembre 2009.

Retour haut de pageRetour haut de page